St. Joseph's Primary School, Macroom, Co. Cork

Scoilnet - Star Site

Go to content

Board of Management

About Us

The body responsible for the running of the school is called the Board of Management and is made up of 8 people. The Board is elected every 4 years. The members of the board are representative of the various partners in education. Chairperson and one other member of the community are elected by the Patron, 2 parents elected by the general body of parents, 1 teacher elected by the teaching staff, school principal and 2 others chosen from the local community. The present BOM chairperson is Mr. Pat O'Halloran.

The Board of Management is appointed for a period of four years.

Structure of the Board.
A ‘Core Board’ consisting of :

  • two nominees of the patron
  • parents elected from parents of students attending the school
  • staff member elected by the school staff
  • school Principal, appointed ex officio.
  • Core Board must then unanimously appoint two members from the wider community.

The current Board of Management, appointed in 2007 is as follows:

Patron nominee Mr. Pat Halloran Chairperson of the Board
Patron nominee Fr. Frances Manning
Principal Sr Brigid O'Connell
Teachers’ Representative Ms Cornelia Cronin
Parents’ Nominee Mr Eoin McCarthy

Parents’ Nominee Mrs Sylvia Sexton
Community Representative Mrs Margaret O'Riordan

Community Representative Mr.Vincent Kingston

Home Page | Blog | News | About Us | Parents | Policies | Activities | Photos | Calendar | Kidszone | Interculture | Contact | Links | Site Map

Back to content | Back to main menu